## UNITED NATIONS

UNEP/OzL.Conv.12(I)/INF/4– UNEP/OzL.Pro.32/INF/6

Distr.: General 5 November 2020 English only





# United Nations Environment Programme

Twelfth meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Vienna Convention for the Protection of the Ozone Layer, part I

Thirty-Second Meeting of the Parties to<br/>the Montreal Protocol on Substancesoart Ithat Deplete the Ozone LayerOnline, 23–27 November 2020

# Status of ratification, acceptance, accession or approval of the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer

### Note by the Secretariat

The annex to the present note sets out information on the status of ratification, acceptance, accession or approval of the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer, adopted in 2016. The information, accurate as at 5 November 2020, has been made available by the depositary through the Office of Legal Affairs of the United Nations. The most recent information, provided by the Office of Legal Affairs, is available from the website of the Ozone Secretariat.<sup>1</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> https://ozone.unep.org/all-ratifications.

#### Annex

## Status of ratification, acceptance, accession or approval of the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol

The table below shows the status of ratification, acceptance, accession or approval of the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, as provided by the Office of Legal Affairs of the United Nations.

As at 5 November 2020, 110 parties had ratified, accepted or approved the Kigali Amendment. The status of ratification, acceptance, accession or approval is as follows:

Country name	Kigali Amendment
Albania	18 January 2019 (R)
Andorra	23 January 2019 (At)
Argentina	22 November 2019 (R)
Armenia	2 May 2019 (At)
Australia	27 October 2017 (At)
Austria	27 September 2018 (R)
Bangladesh	8 June 2020(R)
Barbados	19 April 2018 (R)
Belgium	4 June 2018 (R)
Benin	19 March 2018 (R)
Bhutan	27 September 2019 (R)
Bolivia	9 October 2020 (R)
Botswana	19 September 2020 (At)
Bulgaria	1 May 2018 (R)
Burkina Faso	26 July 2018 (R)
Cabo Verde	28 October 2020 (R)
Canada	3 November 2017 (R)
Chad	26 March 2019 (R)
Chile	19 September 2017 (R)
Comoros	16 November 2017 (R)
Cook Islands	22 August 2019 (At)
Costa Rica	23 May 2018 (R)
Côte d'Ivoire	29 November 2017 (At)
Croatia	6 December 2018 (R)
Cuba	20 June 2019 (R)
Cyprus	22 July 2019 (R)
Czech Republic	27 September 2018 (At)
Democratic People's Republic of Korea	21 September 2017 (R)
Denmark	6 December 2018 (Ap)
Ecuador	22 January 2018 (R)
Estonia	27 September 2018 (R)
Ethiopia	5 July 2019 (R)
European Union	27 September 2018 (Ap)
Fiji	16 June 2020 (R)
Finland	14 November 2017 (At)
France	29 March 2018 (Ap)
Gabon	28 February 2018 (At)
Germany	16 November 2017 (At)
Ghana	2 August 2019 (R)

Country name	Kigali Amendment
Greece	5 October 2018 (R)
Grenada	29 May 2018 (R)
Guinea	5 December 2019(R)
Guinea Bissau	22 October 2018 (R)
Holy See	17 June 2020 (R)
Honduras	28 January 2019 (R)
Hungary	14 September 2018 (Ap)
Ireland	12 March 2018 (R)
Japan	18 December 2018 (At)
Jordan	16 October 2019 (R)
Kiribati	26 October 2018 (R)
Kyrgyzstan	8 September 2020 (R)
Lao People's Democratic Republic	16 November 2017 (At)
Latvia	17 August 2018 (R)
Lebanon	5 February 2020 (R)
Lesotho	7 October 2019 (R)
Liberia	12 July 2020 (R)
Liechtenstein	16 September 2020 (R)
Lithuania	24 July 2018 (R)
Luxembourg	16 November 2017 (R)
Malawi	21 November 2017 (R)
Malaysia	21 October 2020 (R)
Maldives	13 November 2017 (R)
Mali	31 March 2017 (At)
Marshall Islands	15 May 2017 (R)
Mauritius	1 October 2019 (R)
Mexico	25 September 2018 (At)
Micronesia (Federated States of)	12 May 2017 (R)
Montenegro	23 April 2019 (R)
Mozambique	16 January 2020(R)
Namibia	16 May 2019 (At)
Netherlands	8 February 2018 (At)
New Zealand	3 October 2019 (R)
Nicaragua	30 September 2020 (R)
Niger	29 August 2018 (R)
Nigeria	20 December 2018 (R)
Niue	24 April 2018 (R)
North Macedonia	12 March 2020 (R)
Norway	6 September 2017 (R)
Palau	29 August 2017 (R)
Panama	28 September 2018 (R)
Paraguay	1 November 2018 (At)
Peru	7 August 2019 (R)
Poland	7 January 2019 (R)
Portugal	17 July 2018 (Ap)
Romania	1 July 2020 (At)
Russian Federation	3 October 2020 (At)
Rwanda	23 May 2017 (R)
Samoa	23 March 2018 (R)

Country name	Kigali Amendment
San Marino	20 October 2020 (R)
Sao Tome and Principe	4 October 2019 (R)
Senegal	31 August 2018 (R)
Seychelles	20 August 2019 (At)
Sierra Leone	15 June 2020 (R)
Slovakia	16 November 2017 (R)
Slovenia	7 December 2018 (R)
Somalia	27 November 2019 (R)
South Africa	1 August 2019 (R)
Sri Lanka	28 September 2018 (R)
Sweden	17 November 2017 (R)
Switzerland	7 November 2018 (R)
Togo	8 March 2018 (At)
Tonga	17 September 2018 (R)
Trinidad and Tobago	17 November 2017 (R)
Turkmenistan	31 August 2020 (R)
Tuvalu	21 September 2017 (R)
Uganda	21 June 2018 (R)
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	14 November 2017 (R)
Uruguay	12 September 2018 (R)
Vanuatu	20 April 2018 (R)
Viet Nam	27 September 2019 (Ap)

 ${\it Abbreviations:}\ R-ratification;\ Ac-accession;\ At-acceptance;\ Ap-approval.$