

Meeting of States Parties

Distr.: General 16 June 2008

Original: English

Eighteenth Meeting New York, 13-20 June 2008

Credentials of representatives to the eighteenth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

Report of the Credentials Committee

Chairperson: Ms. Miriam Mac Intosh (Suriname)

1. On 13 June 2008, the eighteenth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea appointed, pursuant to rule 14 of the Rules of Procedure for Meetings of States Parties (SPLOS/2/Rev.4), a Credentials Committee consisting of the following nine States parties: Brazil, Greece, Indonesia, Mongolia, Morocco, New Zealand, Slovenia, South Africa and Suriname.

2. The Committee held its meeting on 13 June 2008.

3. Miriam Mac Intosh (Suriname) was elected Chairperson by acclamation.

4. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretariat, dated 12 June 2008, on the status of credentials of representatives participating in the eighteenth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea. The Secretary of the Committee made a statement supplementing the memorandum regarding the inclusion of those credentials and communications received subsequent to the preparation of the memorandum.

5. As noted in paragraph 1 of the memorandum, as orally supplemented by the Secretary during the meeting, formal credentials issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs or by a person authorized by either of them had been received by the Secretariat for the representatives of the following 97 States participating in the eighteenth Meeting of States Parties: Albania, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Lesotho, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated



States of), Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Vanuatu and Zimbabwe.

6. As noted in paragraph 2 of the memorandum, credentials issued by the President of the European Commission had also been submitted for the representatives of the European Community.

7. As noted in paragraph 3 of the memorandum, as orally supplemented during the meeting, information concerning the appointment of representatives participating in the eighteenth Meeting of States Parties had been communicated by means of facsimile or in the form of letters or notes verbales from ministries, embassies, permanent missions to the United Nations or other Government offices or authorities, or through local United Nations offices, by the following 57 States participating in the eighteenth Meeting: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belize, Benin, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Fiji, Gambia, Georgia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Iraq, Jamaica, Kiribati, Kuwait, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mozambique, Nepal, Netherlands, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Qatar, Romania, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, South Africa, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Ukraine, Viet Nam, Yemen and Zambia.

8. The Chairperson proposed that the Committee accept the credentials of all the representatives mentioned in the memorandum by the Secretariat, supplemented by the additional information provided by the Secretary during the meeting of the Committee, on the understanding that formal credentials of the representatives referred to in paragraph 3 of the Secretariat's memorandum, as orally supplemented, would be communicated to the Secretariat as soon as possible. The following draft resolution was proposed by the Chairperson for adoption by the Committee:

The Credentials Committee,

Having examined the credentials of the representatives to the eighteenth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea referred to in paragraphs 1 to 3 of the memorandum by the Secretariat dated 12 June 2008, supplemented by the additional information provided by the Secretariat during the meeting of the Credentials Committee,

Accepts the credentials of the representatives concerned.

9. The draft resolution was adopted by the Committee without a vote.

10. Subsequently, the Chairperson proposed that the Committee recommend to the eighteenth Meeting of States Parties the adoption of a draft resolution (see para. 12 below). The proposal was adopted without a vote.

11. In the light of the foregoing, the present report is submitted to the eighteenth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea.

Recommendation of the Credentials Committee

12. The Credentials Committee recommends to the eighteenth Meeting of States Parties the adoption of the following draft resolution:

Credentials of representatives to the eighteenth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

The Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,

Approves the report of the Credentials Committee.