

Distr.: General 3 October 2012

Original: English

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2048 (2012) concerning Guinea-Bissau

Note verbale dated 2 October 2012 from the Permanent Mission of the Republic of Bulgaria to the United Nations addressed to the Chair of the Committee

The Permanent Mission of the Republic of Bulgaria to the United Nations presents its compliments to the Chair of the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2048 (2012) concerning Guinea-Bissau and, with reference to the letter dated 28 June 2012, transmits herewith its report on the implementation of paragraph 4 of Security Council resolution 2048 (2012), in accordance with paragraph 10 of the same resolution (see annex).



Please recycle



Annex to the note verbale dated 2 October 2012 from the Permanent Mission of the Republic of Bulgaria to the United Nations addressed to the Chair of the Committee

Report of Bulgaria to the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2048 (2012) concerning Guinea-Bissau

The Republic of Bulgaria has implemented the travel ban imposed by the Security Council in resolution 2048 (2012) through the following legal acts of the European Union:

- Council decision 2012/285/CFSP of 31 May 2012 concerning restrictive measures directed against certain persons, entities and bodies threatening the peace, security or stability of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau and repealing decision 2012/237/CFSP.
- Council regulation (EU) No. 377/2012 of 3 May 2012 concerning restrictive measures directed against certain persons, entities and bodies threatening the peace, security or stability of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau.
- Council implementing regulation (EU) No. 458/2012 of 31 May 2012 implementing article 11(1) of regulation (EU) No. 377/2012 concerning restrictive measures directed against certain persons, entities and bodies threatening the peace, security or stability of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau.

These acts set out the commitment of the States members of the European Union to implement the travel ban against the designated persons pursuant to Security Council resolution 2048 (2012). Furthermore, the States members of the European Union have committed to implement a travel ban against an additional 16 persons (European Union autonomous listings) and have imposed asset freezes on 21 individuals, including the five individuals listed in the annex to resolution 2048 (2012).

The above-mentioned Council regulations are binding in their entirety and directly applicable in all States members of the European Union.