

Distr.: General 17 January 2006

Original: English

Letter dated 17 January 2006 from the President of the Security Council addressed to the Secretary-General*

I have the honour to refer to the following resolutions adopted on 20 December 2005, which read as follows:

Resolution 1645 (2005), paragraph 4

"Also decides that the Peacebuilding Commission shall have a standing Organizational Committee, responsible for developing its own rules of procedure and working methods, comprising:

(a) Seven members of the Security Council, including permanent members, selected according to rules and procedures decided by the Council;"

Resolution 1646 (2005), paragraph 1

"Decides pursuant to paragraph 4 (a) of resolution 1645 (2005) that the permanent members listed in article 23 (1) of the Charter shall be members of the Organizational Committee of the Peacebuilding Commission and that, in addition, the Council shall select annually two of its elected members to participate in the Organizational Committee;"

Following informal consultations among members of the Security Council on 13 January 2006, they agreed to the selection of Denmark and the United Republic of Tanzania as the two members of the Council's elected member category for the Organizational Committee for a term of one year until the end of 2006. They also took note of the position expressed by Argentina and supported by Peru that a member of the Latin American and Caribbean States Group be considered for selection upon the expiration of the terms of Denmark and the United Republic of Tanzania.

> (*Signed*) Augustine P. **Mahiga** President of the Security Council

06-21164 (E) 170106 * 0621164 *

^{*} A copy has been sent to the President of the General Assembly, Jan Eliasson.