Preparatory Committee for the 2020 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

Distr.: General 8 May 2019

Original: English

Third session New York, 29 April–10 May 2019

Election of the President and other officers

(decision adopted at the 16th meeting, on 8 May 2019)

1. At its third session, the Preparatory Committee considered the question of the nomination of the President of the 2020 Review Conference and agrees that the nomination of the candidate endorsed by the Latin American and Caribbean Group, Rafael Mariano Grossi (Argentina), will be finalized upon communication by the Chair of the Group of Non-Aligned States Parties to the Treaty, during the last quarter of 2019.

2. The Committee agrees to recommend that Main Committees should be chaired by the Chairs of the consecutive sessions of the Preparatory Committee, or their successors, as follows: Main Committee I should be chaired by a representative of the Group of Non-Aligned States Parties to the Treaty, i.e., the Chair of the third session of the Preparatory Committee; Main Committee II should be chaired by a representative of the Group of Eastern European States, i.e., the Chair of the second session of the Preparatory Committee; and Main Committee III should be chaired by a representative of the Western Group, i.e., the Chair of the first session of the Preparatory Committee.

3. The Committee also agrees to recommend that the post of Chair of the Drafting Committee be assumed by a representative of the Group of Eastern European States and the post of Chair of the Credentials Committee by a representative of the Group of Non-Aligned States Parties to the Treaty.

4. The Committee authorizes its Bureau and the President-designate to handle technical and other organizational matters, as well as to carry out consultations with States parties in the period before the Review Conference. It also decides that the Chair of the third session of the Preparatory Committee should open the Conference.

5. The Committee decides that invitations to observers that, in accordance with the decision on participation, are entitled to participate in the Review Conference, as well as invitations to the Secretary-General of the United Nations and the Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency, should be issued by the Chair of the third session of the Preparatory Committee.



