2020 Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons

Distr.: General 26 August 2022

Original: English

New York, 1-26 August 2022

Credentials of representatives to the Conference

Final report of the Credentials Committee

- 1. Rule 3 of the rules of procedure of the tenth Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons provides:
 - "The Conference shall establish a Credentials Committee composed of the Chair and two Vice-Chairs elected in accordance with rule 5, and six members appointed by the Conference on the proposal of the President. The Committee shall examine the credentials of representatives and report to the Conference without delay."
- 2. In accordance with rule 5 of its rules of procedure, the Conference unanimously elected, at its plenary, held on 1 August 2022, Mr. Mohammed Bahr AlUloom (Iraq) as Chair of the Credentials Committee and Ms. Murielle Marchand (Belgium) as Vice-Chair of the Committee.
- 3. In accordance with rule 3 of the rules of procedure, the Conference, on the proposal of the President, appointed the following countries as members of the Credentials Committee: Bulgaria, Canada, Guatemala, Guyana, Hungary and Holy See.
- 4. The Committee held one meeting, on 22 August 2022, to examine the credentials received thus far. The Committee had before it a memorandum of the Secretary-General of the Conference dated 18 August, containing information on the status of the credentials of the representatives of the States parties attending the Conference.
- 5. Having examined the information contained in the memorandum, and other credentials that it received subsequently, the Committee noted that, as at 26 August:
- (a) Formal credentials in due form, as provided for by rule 2 of the rules of procedure, have been received by the Secretary-General of the Conference for representatives of the following 102 States parties: Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Guatemala, Guyana, Holy See, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Lao







People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, State of Palestine, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Togo, Türkiye, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam and Zimbabwe.

- (b) Provisional credentials for the representatives of the following 48 States parties have been communicated to the Secretary-General of the Conference by means of a facsimile communication from the Head of State or Government or Minister for Foreign Affairs or by means of a note verbale or letter from the Permanent Mission concerned: Albania, Bhutan, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Chad, Chile, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lesotho, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia (Federated States of), Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Oman, Paraguay, Republic of Moldova, Rwanda, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Suriname, Timor-Leste, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Yemen and Zambia.
- (c) The following 40 States parties have not submitted their credentials: Afghanistan, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Comoros, Congo, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Djibouti, Dominica, Eswatini, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Liberia, Mali, Mauritius, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Sudan, Tajikistan, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United Republic of Tanzania and Vanuatu.
- 6. On the proposal of the Chairman, the Committee agreed to accept the credentials of all the participating States parties referred to in paragraph 5 (a) and (b) on the understanding that the originals of the credentials of the representatives of those States referred to in paragraph 5 (b) would be submitted as soon as possible, in accordance with the terms of rule 2 of the rules of procedure.
- 7. In relation to Myanmar, acknowledging the report of the Credentials Committee of the General Assembly at its seventy-sixth session (A/76/550), the Chair proposed that the Committee defer its decision on the credentials pertaining to the representatives of Myanmar. The proposal was adopted without a vote.
- 8. At its meeting on 22 August, the Committee unanimously adopted its report to the Conference.

¹ Announced its withdrawal on 10 January 2003. The legal status of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea as a State party is uncertain.

2/2 22-13178