

Distr.: General 10 September 2019

English only

Conference of the Parties

Fourteenth session New Delhi, India, 2–13 September 2019 Agenda item 1 (d) Organizational matters Credentials of delegations

Credentials of delegations

Report of the Bureau to the Conference of the Parties

I. Introduction

- 1. In accordance with rule 19 of the rules of procedure, "credentials of representatives as well as the names of alternate representatives and advisers shall be submitted to the Permanent Secretariat, if possible, not later than 24 hours after the opening of the session. Any later change in the composition of the delegation shall also be submitted to the Permanent Secretariat. The credentials shall be issued either by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs or, in the case of a regional economic integration organization, by the competent authority of that organization".
- 2. Furthermore, rule 20 of the rules of procedure provides that "the Bureau of any session shall examine the credentials and submit its report to the Conference of the Parties for decision".
- 3. The present report is submitted to the Conference of the Parties in the light of the foregoing.

II. Examination of credentials

- 4. On 5 September 2019, The Bureau met to examine the credentials submitted by the Parties to the Convention.
- 5. The Bureau had before it a memorandum dated 5 September 2019 from the Executive Secretary on the status of credentials of representatives participating in the Conference. The information contained in this memorandum is reflected below.
- 6. Formal credentials issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Minister for Foreign Affairs, as provided for in rule 19 of the rules of procedure, have been received by the secretariat from the representatives of the following 74 Parties participating in the Conference: Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso,

GE.19-15277(E)





Chile, China, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Czechia, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Eswatini, Ethiopia, European Union, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guyana, Hungary, Iceland, Japan, Liberia, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mexico, Montenegro, Mozambique, Nepal, Nicaragua, Oman, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, South Africa, Sri Lanka, State of Palestine, Suriname, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, United States of America, Venezuela and Zambia.

- 7. Credentials issued by the Head of State or Government or by the Ministers for the Foreign Affairs have been submitted by facsimile or photocopy from the representatives of the followings 11 Parties: Belgium, Canada, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Republic of Moldova, Somalia and Tuvalu.
- 8. Information concerning the appointment of representatives participating in the Conference has been communicated to the secretariat in the form of letters or Notes Verbales from ministries, embassies, permanent missions to the United Nations or other Government offices or authorities, or through local United Nations offices, by the following 67 Parties participating in the Conference: Algeria, Angola, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Republic of), Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Gabon, Guatemala, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Namibia, Netherlands, Niger, North Macedonia, Paraguay, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Tanzania, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, Yemen and Zimbabwe.
- 9. The President proposed that the Bureau should accept credentials of all the representatives mentioned in the memorandum of the Executive Secretary, on the understanding that formal credentials for the representatives referred in paragraphs 7 and 8 above would be communicated to the secretariat as soon as possible. The Bureau accepted the proposal and agreed to submit the present report to the Conference.
- 10. The second report on credentials will be forthcoming to the Conference at a later date, whereupon decision ICCD/COP(14)/L.X (on credentials) will be proposed to the Conference.

2