

Distr.: Limited 20 May 2019

Original: English

Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice Twenty-eighth session Vienna, 20–24 May 2019

Draft report

Rapporteur: Ahmed Tareq Ibrahim Maaty (Egypt)

Addendum

General debate

1. At its 1st, 2nd, 4th and 5th meetings, on 20, 21 and 22 May 2019, the Commission considered agenda item 3, entitled "General debate".

2. At the 1st meeting of the twenty-eighth session of the Commission, on 20 May 2019, the following persons made statements:

Nobuo Inada, Prosecutor General of Japan

Umar Etsu Mohammed, Prosecutor General of Nigeria

Josef Moser, Minister of Justice of Austria

José Oscar Armando Pineda Navas, President of the Supreme Court of El Salvador

Sayed Hussain Alemi Balkhi, Minister for Refugees and Repatriation of Afghanistan

Feng Lijun, Senior Adviser, Ministry of Justice of China

Oleg Syromolotov, Deputy Foreign Minister of the Russian Federation

Olzhas Bektenov, Deputy Chair, Agency for Civil Service Affairs and Anti-Corruption of Kazakhstan

Maria Assunta Accili Sabbatini, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Italy to the United Nations (Vienna)

Jackie Wolcott, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of the United States of America to the United Nations (Vienna)

Talya Lador-Fresher, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Israel to the United Nations (Vienna)

Brendon Hammer, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Australia to the United Nations (Vienna)





Gloria Navarrete, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Chile to the United Nations (Vienna), on behalf of Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Chile, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico, Uruguay and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

Jose Antonio Marcondes De Carvalho, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Brazil to the United Nations (Vienna)

3. At the 2nd meeting of the session, on 20 May 2019, the following persons made statements:

Emma Patricia Esquetini, Member of the Council of the Judiciary of Ecuador

Carlos Giovanni Arias Lazarte, Supreme Justice of Peru

Tebogo Seokolo, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of South Africa to the United Nations (Vienna)

Sadiq Marafi, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Kuwait to the United Nations (Vienna)

Martín Casares, General Coordinator, Ministry of Justice and Human Rights of Argentina

Abbas Bagherpour Ardakani, Director General for International Legal Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Islamic Republic of Iran

Natasha Meli Daudey, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Malta to the United Nations (Vienna)

Nicole Roberton, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of New Zealand to the United Nations (Vienna)

Ahmed Alzaabi, Second Secretary, Permanent Mission of the United Arab Emirates to the United Nations (Vienna)

Lourdes Gisela Victoria-Kruse, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of the Dominican Republic to the United Nations (Vienna)

Jesse Alonso Chacón Escamillo, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela to the United Nations (Vienna)

Baker Fattah Hussen, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Iraq to the United Nations (Vienna)

Ghislain D'Hoop, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Belgium to the United Nations (Vienna)

Abdulla Yousuf M. al-Mal, Legal Adviser to the Minister of the Interior of Qatar

Omar Amer Youssef, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Egypt to the United Nations (Vienna)

Lidwina Ndeshimona Shapwa, Deputy Minister of Justice of Namibia

Stefania Giannini, Assistant Director-General for Education, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Alexis Batista Segrera, Representative of the Ministry of Justice of Cuba

Carlos Huespe Aveiro, Deputy Minister of Criminal Policy, Ministry of Justice of Paraguay

Safwan Almbaidin, Deputy Director of Legal Affairs, Ministry of the Interior of Jordan

Ahmet Muhtar Gün, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Turkey to the United Nations (Vienna)

Wisit Wisitsora-At, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice of Thailand

Patrick Ole Ntutu, Chief Administrative Secretary, Ministry of the Interior and Coordination of National Government of Kenya

Darmansjah Djumala, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Indonesia to the United Nations (Vienna)

Humaira Mufti Zia, Joint Secretary, Ministry of the Interior of Pakistan

Bassam Sabbagh, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of the Syrian Arab Republic to the United Nations (Vienna)

4. At the 4th meeting of the session, on 21 May 2019, the following persons made statements:

Le Duc Hanh, Deputy Director General, Department of International Law and Treaties, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Viet Nam

Sudhesh Kumar Shahi, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs of India

José Ayú Prado Canals, Justice, Supreme Court of Panama

Md. Abu Zafar, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Bangladesh to the United Nations (Vienna)

Louise Taylor, Head, Serious Organised Crime Network, Home Office of the United Kingdom

Lucie Angers, General Counsel and Director of External Relations, Criminal Law Policy Section, Department of Justice of Canada

Jon Erik Stroemoe, Minister Counsellor, Permanent Mission of Norway to the United Nations (Vienna)

Byung-ha Chung, Director General of the Inspection Department and Chief Prosecutor, Supreme Prosecutor's Office of the Republic of Korea

Bruce S. Concepcion, Special Envoy on Transnational Crime of the Philippines

Hermann Aschentrupp Toledo, Alternate Permanent Representative of the Permanent Mission of Mexico to the United Nations (Vienna)

Adriana Mejía Hernández, Deputy Minister of Multilateral Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Colombia

Nor Dine Sadouk, Chargé d'Affaires of the Permanent Mission of Morocco to the United Nations (Vienna)

5. At the 5th meeting of the session, on 22 May 2019, the following persons made statements:

Ganeson Sivagurunathan, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Malaysia to the United Nations (Vienna)

Alejandro Solano Ortíz, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Costa Rica to the United Nations (Vienna)

Manon Simon, Legal Expert, Switzerland

Mirlan Parkhanov, Deputy Director, State Agency for Youth Affairs of Kyrgzystan

Jesus Javier Giz Mantero, Counsellor, Permanent Mission of Uruguay to the United Nations (Vienna)

Jean-Louis Falconi, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of France to the United Nations (Vienna)

Natali Pavlova, International Law and European Union Law Directorate, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Bulgaria Faouzia Mebarki, Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Algeria to the United Nations (Vienna)

Janusz S. Urbańczyk, Ambassador, Permanent Observer of the Holy See to the United Nations (Vienna)

Safaa Shabat, First Secretary, Alternate Permanent Observer of the State of Palestine to the United Nations (Vienna)

Ugljesa Ugi Zvekic, Ambassador, Permanent Observer of the European Public Law Organization to the United Nations (Vienna)

Günther A. Granser, Ambassador, Permanent Observer of the Sovereign Order of Malta to the United Nations (Vienna)

Dirk van Zyl Smit, Chair, Penal Reform International

6. Also at the 5th meeting, the representatives of Morocco and Algeria made statements in exercise of the right of reply.