United Nations E/2008/9/Add.4



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 12 February 2008

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 2008

29 and 30 April 2008 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 21 members of the Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

- 1. Pursuant to Economic and Social Council resolutions 1982/67 and 1985/71, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 2008, 21 members of the Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2009 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2008 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: China, Germany, Italy, Lebanon, Malta, Namibia, Panama, Portugal, Russian Federation, Senegal, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Uganda, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United Republic of Tanzania. In addition, there are two vacant seats in the Latin American and Caribbean States group and three vacant seats in the Western European and other States group for members whose terms will expire on 31 December 2008.
- 2. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:

Five seats from African States;

Three members from Asian States:

One member from Eastern European States;

Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Nine members from Western European and other States.

3. The membership of the Working Group in 2008 is given in the annex to the present note.



Annex

Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting

(34 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2008

Nine members from African States

Benin (2009), Burundi (2009), Namibia* (2008), Nigeria (2009), Senegal* (2008), South Africa* (2008), Tunisia (2009), Uganda* (2008), United Republic of Tanzania* (2008)

Seven members from Asian States^a

China* (2008), Cyprus (2009), Lebanon* (2008), Sri Lanka* (2008)

Three members from Eastern European States

Poland (2009), Russian Federation* (2008), Slovakia (2009)

Six members from Latin American and Caribbean States^b

Brazil (2009), Panama* (2008)

Nine members from Western European and other States^c

Germany* (2008), Italy* (2008), Malta* (2008), Portugal* (2008), Sweden* (2008), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland* (2008)

2 08-23765

^{*} Retiring member.

^a There are three vacancies in this group for members whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2009.

^b There are four vacancies in this group: two for members whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2008 and two for members whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2009.

^c There are three vacancies in this group for members whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2008.