United Nations A/RES/63/4



Distr.: General 25 November 2008

**Sixty-third session** Agenda item 122

## Resolution adopted by the General Assembly on 13 October 2008

[on the report of the Fifth Committee (A/63/472)]

## 63/4. Scale of assessments for the apportionment of the expenses of the United Nations: requests under Article 19 of the Charter

The General Assembly,

Having considered chapter V of the report of the Committee on Contributions on its sixty-eighth session, <sup>1</sup>

Reaffirming the obligation of Member States under Article 17 of the Charter of the United Nations to bear the expenses of the Organization as apportioned by the General Assembly,

- 1. *Reaffirms* its role in accordance with the provisions of Article 19 of the Charter of the United Nations and the advisory role of the Committee on Contributions in accordance with rule 160 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly;
  - 2. Also reaffirms its resolution 54/237 C of 23 December 1999;
- 3. Requests the Secretary-General to continue to bring to the attention of Member States the deadline specified in resolution 54/237 C, including through an early announcement in the *Journal of the United Nations* and through direct communication;
- 4. Urges all Member States requesting exemption under Article 19 of the Charter to submit as much information as possible in support of their requests and to consider submitting such information in advance of the deadline specified in resolution 54/237 C so as to enable the collation of any additional detailed information that may be necessary;
- 5. Agrees that the failure of the Central African Republic, the Comoros, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Sao Tome and Principe, Somalia and Tajikistan to pay the full minimum amount necessary to avoid the application of Article 19 of the Charter was due to conditions beyond their control;

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Official Records of the General Assembly, Sixty-third Session, Supplement No. 11 (A/63/11).

6. *Decides* that the Central African Republic, the Comoros, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Sao Tome and Principe, Somalia and Tajikistan shall be permitted to vote in the General Assembly until the end of its sixty-third session.

24th plenary meeting 13 October 2008