

Distr.: General 18 August 2021

Original: English

Human Rights Council Thirty-first special session 24 August 2021

Letter dated 17 August 2021 from the Permanent Representative of Pakistan and the Permanent Representative of Afghanistan to the United Nations Office at Geneva addressed to the President of the Human Rights Council

In accordance with the relevant rules of procedures, including paragraph 10 of the General Assembly resolution 60/251, paragraphs 119 to 128 of the annex to the Human Rights Council resolution 5/1, and rules 5 and 6 of the rules of procedure of the Human Rights Council, the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) Group in Geneva requests the convening of a special session of the Human Rights Council on 24 August 2021 on the serious human rights concerns and situation in Afghanistan.

The present request has the support of both OIC and non-OIC countries that are members and observers of the Human Rights Council (see annex).

The Human Rights Council secretariat is requested to make the necessary arrangements.

(signed)	Khalil Hashmi Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Permanent Representative of Pakistan Coordinator of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation on Human Rights and Humanitarian Issues
(signed)	Nasir Ahmad Andisha Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Permanent Representative of Afghanistan



Annex

States members and observer States of the Human Rights Council requesting the convening of a special session

Member States

Argentina, Austria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Czechia, Denmark, France, Gabon, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Libya, Mauritania, Mexico, Netherlands, Pakistan, Poland, Senegal, Somalia, Sudan, Togo, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Uzbekistan

Observer States

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Benin, Brunei Darussalam, Chad, Comoros, Croatia, Cyprus, Djibouti, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, Gambia, Greece, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Hungary, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Morocco, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Yemen, State of Palestine