United Nations A/CONF.219/2023/2



Fifth United Nations Conference on the Least Developed Countries

Distr.: General 7 March 2023

Original: English



New York, 17 March 2022 Doha, 5–9 March 2023

Agenda item 7 (b)

Credentials of representatives participating in the Conference

Report of the Credentials Committee

Chair: Charlotta Schlyter (Sweden)

1. Rule 4 of the rules of procedure of the Fifth United Nations Conference on the Least Developed Countries provides that:

A Credentials Committee of nine members shall be appointed at the beginning of the Conference. Its composition shall be based on that of the Credentials Committee of the General Assembly at its seventy-sixth session. It shall examine the credentials of representatives and report to the Conference without delay.

- 2. At its 1st plenary meeting, on 17 March 2022, the Conference, in accordance with rule 4 of its rules of procedure, appointed a Credentials Committee consisting of the following States: Bahamas, Bhutan, Chile, China, Namibia, Russian Federation, Sierra Leone, Sweden and United States of America.
- 3. The Credentials Committee held one meeting, on 7 March 2023.
- 4. The representative of Sweden, Charlotta Schlyter, was unanimously elected as Chair.
- 5. The Committee had before it a memorandum by the Secretary-General dated 6 March 2023 concerning the credentials of representatives of States and of the European Union. A representative of the Office of Legal Affairs of the Secretariat made a statement relating to the memorandum.
- 6. As indicated in paragraph 1 of the memorandum, as updated by the statement of the representative of the Office of Legal Affairs, formal credentials of representatives to the Conference, in the form required under rule 3 of the rules of procedure of the Conference, had been submitted to the Secretary-General, as at the time of the meeting of the Committee, by the following 66 States: Algeria, Austria, Bahamas, Belarus, Benin, Bhutan, Burundi, Cambodia, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, France, Gambia, Georgia, Guyana, Holy See, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malta, Mongolia, Nepal, New Zealand, Niger, Oman, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore,





Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Türkiye, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United States of America, Vanuatu, Zimbabwe.

- As indicated in paragraph 2 of the memorandum, as updated by the statement of the representative of the Office of the Legal Affairs, information concerning the appointment of representatives of States to the Conference had been communicated to the Secretary-General, as at the time of the meeting of the Committee, by means of a copy of formal credentials signed by the Head of State or Government or the Minister for Foreign Affairs, or by means of a letter or note verbale from the ministry, embassy or mission concerned, by the European Union and the following 102 States: Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Canada, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Comoros, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Iceland, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, State of Palestine, Sweden, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia.
- 8. As indicated in paragraph 3 of the memorandum, as updated by the statement of the representative of the Office of Legal Affairs, the Secretary-General had not received the formal credentials or information referred to in paragraph 7 above from the following 28 States invited to participate in the Conference: Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Belize, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cameroon, Colombia, Cook Islands, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Grenada, Guatemala, Iraq, Jamaica, Liechtenstein, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Montenegro, Namibia, Nauru, Nicaragua, Niue, North Macedonia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, San Marino, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago.
- 9. The Chair recommended that the Committee accept the credentials of the representatives of the States and of the European Union listed in paragraphs 1 and 2 of the above-mentioned memorandum, as updated, on the understanding that formal credentials for representatives of the States and the European Union referred to in paragraph 2 of the memorandum, as updated, as well as States referred to in paragraph 3 of the memorandum, as updated, and, where applicable, would be communicated to the Secretary-General as soon as possible.
- 10. In relation to Myanmar, acknowledging the report of the Credentials Committee of the General Assembly at its seventy-sixth and seventy-seventh sessions (A/76/550 and A/77/600), the Chair proposed that the Committee defer its decision on the credentials pertaining to the representatives of Myanmar to the Conference. The proposal was adopted without a vote.
- 11. The Chair proposed the following draft resolution for adoption by the Committee:

2/3 23-03576

The Credentials Committee,

Having examined the credentials of the representatives to the Fifth United Nations Conference on the Least Developed Countries,

Accepts the credentials of the representatives of the States and of the European Union referred to in paragraphs 1 and 2 of the memorandum of the Secretary-General, as updated.

- 12. The draft resolution proposed by the Chair was adopted without a vote.
- 13. The Chair then proposed that the Committee recommend to the Conference the adoption of a draft resolution entitled "Credentials of representatives to the Fifth United Nations Conference on the Least Developed Countries" (see para. 15 below). The proposal was adopted without a vote.
- 14. In the light of the foregoing, the present report is submitted to the Conference.

Recommendation of the Credentials Committee

15. The Credentials Committee recommends to the Conference the adoption of the following draft resolution:

Credentials of representatives to the Fifth United Nations Conference on the Least Developed Countries

The Fifth United Nations Conference on the Least Developed Countries,

Having considered the report of the Credentials Committee and the recommendation contained therein, ¹

Approves the report of the Credentials Committee.

23-03576

¹ A/CONF.219/2023/2.