

Distr.: General 17 July 2007

Original: English

Fifth Committee

Summary record of the 51st meeting		
Held at Headquarters, New York, on Thursday, 24 May 2007, at 11:30 a.m.		
Chairman:	Mr. Yousfi	Algeria)

Contents

Election of the Chairman and officers for the sixty-second session of the General Assembly

This record is subject to correction. Corrections should be sent under the signature of a member of the delegation concerned *within one week of the date of publication* to the Chief of the Official Records Editing Section, room DC2-750, 2 United Nations Plaza, and incorporated in a copy of the record.

Corrections will be issued after the end of the session, in a separate corrigendum for each Committee.



The meeting was called to order at 11.30 a.m.

Election of the Chairman and officers for the sixtysecond session of the General Assembly

1. **The Chairman** recalled that, in accordance with rule 99 (a) of the Rules of Procedure as amended by General Assembly resolution 56/509 as well as rule 103 as amended by General Assembly resolution 58/126, annex B, paragraph 9, all the Main Committees were required to elect a chairman and a full bureau at least three months before the opening of the session.

2. **Mr. Hamidon** (Malaysia) had been nominated for election to the office of Chairman for the sixty-second session. In the absence of further nominations and in accordance with rule 103 of the Rules of Procedure, he would take it that the Committee wished to elect Mr. Hamidon (Malaysia) Chairman.

3. *Mr. Hamidon (Malaysia) was elected Chairman by acclamation.*

4. **The Chairman** said that the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States, the Group of Eastern European States and the Group of Western European and other States had nominated respectively Mr. Torres Lipori (Argentina), Mr. Mičánek (Czech Republic) and Mr. de Rijk (Netherlands) for the posts of Vice-Chairmen and the Group of African States had nominated Mr. Nkayivu (Uganda) for the post of Rapporteur.

5. Mr. Torres Lipori (Argentina), Mr. Mičánek (Czech Republic) and Mr. de Rijk (Netherlands) were elected Vice-Chairmen and Mr. Nkayivu (Uganda) was elected Rapporteur by acclamation.

The meeting rose at 11.40 a.m.