

Distr.: Limited 3 May 2019

Original: English

Committee on Information Forty-first session 29 April–10 May 2019 Agenda item 10 Consideration and adoption of the report of the Committee to the General Assembly at its seventy-fourth session

# **Draft report**

### I. Introduction

1. In its resolution 34/182, the General Assembly decided to maintain the Committee to Review United Nations Public Information Policies and Activities, established by its resolution 33/115 C, which would be known as the Committee on Information, and to increase its membership from 41 to 66. In section I, paragraph 2, of resolution 34/182, the Assembly requested the Committee:

(a) To continue to examine United Nations public information policies and activities, in the light of the evolution of international relations, particularly during the past two decades, and of the imperatives of the establishment of the new international economic order and of a new world information and communication order;

(b) To evaluate and follow up the efforts made and the progress achieved by the United Nations system in the field of information and communications;

(c) To promote the establishment of a new, more just and more effective world information and communication order intended to strengthen peace and international understanding and based on the free circulation and wider and more balanced dissemination of information and to make recommendations thereon to the General Assembly.

The Assembly also requested the Committee and the Secretary-General to report to it at its thirty-fifth session.

2. The General Assembly, from its thirty-sixth to seventy-third sessions, took note of the reports of the Committee and adopted resolutions by consensus. At its seventy-third session, the Assembly took note of the report of the Committee and adopted by consensus resolutions 73/102 A and B.

3. Currently, the Committee is composed of the following Member States:





Algeria	Dominican Republic
Angola	Ecuador
Antigua and Barbuda	Egypt
Argentina	El Salvador
Armenia	Ethiopia
Austria	Finland
Azerbaijan	France
Bangladesh	Gabon
Belarus	Georgia
Belgium	Germany
Belize	Ghana
Benin	Greece
Brazil	Guatemala
Bulgaria	Guinea
Burkina Faso	Guyana
Burundi	Hungary
Cabo Verde	Iceland
Chile	India
China	Indonesia
Colombia	Iran (Islamic Republic of)
Congo	Iraq
Costa Rica	Ireland
Côte d'Ivoire	Israel
Croatia	Italy
Cuba	Jamaica
Cyprus	Japan
Czechia	Jordan
Democratic People's Republic of Korea	Kazakhstan
Democratic Republic of the Congo	Kenya
Denmark	Lebanon

Liberia	Solomon Islands
Libya	Somalia
Luxembourg	South Africa
Madagascar	Spain
Malta	Sri Lanka
Mexico	Sudan
Monaco	Suriname
Mongolia	Switzerland
Morocco	Syrian Arab Republic
Mozambique	Thailand
Nepal	Togo
Netherlands	Trinidad and Tobago
Niger	Tunisia
Nigeria	Turkey
Oman	Ukraine
Pakistan	United Kingdom of Great Britain and
Paraguay	Northern Ireland
Peru	United Republic of Tanzania
Philippines	United States of America
Poland	Uruguay
Portugal	Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Qatar	Viet Nam
Republic of Korea	Yemen
Republic of Moldova	Zambia
Romania	Zimbabwe
Russian Federation	
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	
Saudi Arabia	
Senegal	
Sierra Leone	
Singapore	
Slovakia	

## **II.** Organizational questions

### A. Opening of the session

4. The organizational meeting of the forty-first session of the Committee was held on 29 April 2019 at Headquarters. The session was opened by the Chair of the Committee, Jan Kickert (Austria).

### **B.** Elections

5. The Committee held elections for a new Bureau for a two-year term. Upon his nomination by the representative of African States, Omar Hilale (Morocco) was elected Chair, by acclamation. Upon their nomination by the representatives of Eastern European States and Asia-Pacific States, Oleh Nikolenko (Ukraine) and Amal Mudallali (Lebanon) were elected Vice-Chairs, by acclamation. Mr. Nikolenko was also elected Rapporteur, by acclamation. The Committee deferred the election of two other Vice-Chairs pending consultations within, and nomination by, Latin American and Caribbean States and the Western European and Other States. The officers for the Committee for the period 2019–2021 are as follows:

Chair:

Omar Hilale (Morocco)

Vice-Chairs:

Oleh Nikolenko (Ukraine) Amal Mudallali (Lebanon)

Rapporteur: Oleh Nikolenko (Ukraine)

### C. Adoption of the agenda and programme of work

6. At its organizational meeting, on 29 April 2019, the Committee adopted the following agenda and programme of work (A/AC.198/2019/1):

- 1. Opening of the session.
- 2. Election of officers.
- 3. Adoption of the agenda and programme of work.
- 4. Admission of new members.
- 5. Statement by the Chair.
- 6. Statement by the Under-Secretary-General for Global Communications.
- 7. General debate.
- 8. Consideration of reports submitted by the Secretary-General.
- 9. Open-ended working group of the Committee on Information.
- 10. Consideration and adoption of the report of the Committee to the General Assembly at its seventy-fourth session.

7. The Committee held its general debate on 29 and 30 April 2019. On 30 April, in the afternoon, the Department of Global Communications, led by the Under-Secretary-General for Global Communications, Alison Smale, held an informal interactive dialogue with representatives of Member States.

8. For its consideration of agenda item 8, the Committee had before it the following documents:

(a) Report of the Secretary-General on the activities of the Department of Global Communications: strategic communications services (A/AC.198/2019/2);

(b) Report of the Secretary-General on the activities of the Department of Global Communications: news services (A/AC.198/2019/3);

(c) Report of the Secretary-General on the activities of the Department of Global Communications: outreach and knowledge services (A/AC.198/2019/4).

#### **D.** Observers

9. The Plurinational State of Bolivia, the European Union, Honduras, the League of Arab States, the State of Palestine and the International Organization of la Francophonie participated in the session as observers.