

Distr.: General 9 March 2011

Original: English

Special Committee on the Situation with regard to the Implementation of the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples

Falkland Islands (Malvinas)*

Working paper prepared by the Secretariat

Corrigendum

Paragraph 1

The paragraph should read as follows:

The Falkland Islands (Malvinas) is a Non-Self-Governing Territory 1 administered by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, comprising two large islands, known as East and West Falkland, as well as hundreds of smaller islands, and a total area of about 12,173 square kilometres. The Falkland Islands (Malvinas) are situated in the South Atlantic, about 770 kilometres northeast of Cape Horn and about 480 kilometres east of the South American mainland. South Georgia, located about 1,300 kilometres south-east of the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) group, and the South Sandwich Islands, located about 750 kilometres east-south-east of South Georgia, are administered from the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) as a separate territory; the Governor of the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) acts concurrently as Commissioner for South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands. According to the latest census (2006), the population of the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) was 2,478 (not including residents temporarily absent and civilians working in conjunction with the Ministry of Defence), representing the largest population since 1931. A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas).

^{*} A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) (see ST/CS/SER.A/42).



