

Distr.: General 22 September 2020

Original: English

Seventy-fifth session Agenda item 119 (a) Elections to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other elections

## **Election of members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination**

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) and General Assembly decision 42/450, the members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination are nominated by the Council and elected by the Assembly.

2. The membership of the Committee in 2020 is as follows (the term of office expires on 31 December in the year indicated):<sup>1</sup> Angola (2021); Argentina (2021); Belarus (2020); Botswana (2020); Brazil (2020); Bulgaria (2020); Burkina Faso (2020); Cameroon (2020); Chad (2020); Chile (2020); China (2022); Comoros (2022); Cuba (2020); Ethiopia (2021); France (2021); Germany (2020); India (2020); Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2020); Italy (2020); Japan (2020); Liberia (2022); Mauritania (2022); Pakistan (2020); Paraguay (2021); Portugal (2020); Republic of Korea (2022); Republic of Moldova (2020); Russian Federation (2021); United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2020); United States of America (2020); and Uruguay (2022).

3. The General Assembly, at its seventy-fifth session, will be called upon to elect 20 members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee that will occur on 31 December 2020 upon the expiration of the terms of office of the following members: Belarus, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Chile, Cuba, Germany, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Italy, Japan, Pakistan, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America; as well as upon the expiration of the term of office linked to the existing vacancy for one member from Latin American and Caribbean States, on 31 December 2020.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> There are three vacancies for a term beginning on the date of election by the General Assembly: one member from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term expiring on 31 December 2020; one member from Western European and other States for a term expiring on 31 December 2021; and one member from Asia-Pacific States for a term expiring on 31 December 2022.





4. In accordance with General Assembly decision 42/450, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:

- (a) Four members from African States;
- (b) Four members from Asia-Pacific States;
- (c) Three members from Eastern European States;
- (d) Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (e) Five members from Western European and other States.

5. By its decision 2021/201 A, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following 18 Member States for election by the General Assembly at its seventy-fifth session for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2021: Armenia, Belarus, Brazil, Cameroon, Costa Rica, Cuba, Eritrea, Eswatini, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Italy, Japan, Mali, Malta, Pakistan, Poland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America.

6. The geographical distribution of the nominated Member States is as follows:

(a) African States (four vacancies): Cameroon, Eritrea, Eswatini and Mali;

(b) Asia-Pacific States (four vacancies): India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan and Pakistan;

(c) Eastern European States (three vacancies): Armenia, Belarus and Poland;

(d) Latin American and Caribbean States (four vacancies): Brazil, Costa Rica and Cuba; $^2$ 

(e) Western European and other States (five vacancies): Italy, Malta, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America.<sup>3</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> One member from Latin American and Caribbean States remains to be nominated for election by the General Assembly for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2021 and expiring on 31 December 2023.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> One member from Western European and other States remains to be nominated for election by the General Assembly for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2021 and expiring on 31 December 2023.