

Distr.: General 3 December 2018

Original: English

Seventy-third session Agenda item 116 (a) Elections to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other elections

Election of members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General

1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) and General Assembly decision 42/450, the members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination are nominated by the Council and elected by the Assembly.

2. The membership of the Committee in 2018 is as follows (the term of office expires on 31 December in the year indicated):¹ Argentina (2018); Bangladesh (2019); Belarus (2020); Botswana (2020); Brazil (2020); Bulgaria (2020); Burkina Faso (2020); Cameroon (2020); Chad (2020); Chile (2020); China (2019); Cuba (2020); Egypt (2019); Eritrea (2019); France (2018); Germany (2020); Haiti (2019); India (2020); Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2020); Italy (2020); Japan (2020); Pakistan (2020); Peru (2018); Portugal (2020); Republic of Korea (2019); Republic of Moldova (2020); Russian Federation (2018); Senegal (2019); United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2020); United Republic of Tanzania (2018); United States of America (2020); and Zimbabwe (2018).

3. The General Assembly, at its seventy-third session, will be called upon to elect seven members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee that will occur on 31 December 2018 upon the expiration of the terms of office of the following members: Argentina, France, Peru, Russian Federation, United Republic of Tanzania and Zimbabwe.

4. In accordance with General Assembly decision 42/450, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:

- (a) Two members from African States;
- (b) One member from Eastern European States;

¹ There are two vacancies for a term beginning on the date of election by the General Assembly: one member from Western European and other States for a term expiring on 31 December 2018; and one member from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term expiring on 31 December 2020.





- (c) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (d) Two members from Western European and other States.

5. By its decision 2018/201 E, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following five Member States for election by the General Assembly at its seventy-third session for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019: Angola, Argentina, Ethiopia, France and Russian Federation.

- 6. The geographical distribution of the nominated Member States is as follows:
 - (a) African States (two vacancies): Angola and Ethiopia;
 - (b) Eastern European States (one vacancy): Russian Federation;
 - (c) Latin American and Caribbean States (two vacancies): Argentina;²
 - (d) Western European and other States (two vacancies): France.²

² The Council postponed the nomination of one member from Latin American and Caribbean States and one member from Western European and other States for election by the General Assembly for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019 and expiring on 31 December 2021.