

Distr.: General 4 June 2015

Original: English

Seventieth session Item 115 (e) of the preliminary list\* Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

## Appointment of members of the Committee on Conferences

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. By its resolution 43/222 B, the General Assembly decided that the Committee on Conferences should be composed of 21 members to be appointed by the President of the Assembly, after consultations with the chairs of the regional groups, for a period of three years, on the basis of the following geographical distribution:

- (a) Six members from African States;
- (b) Five members from Asia-Pacific States;
- (c) Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (d) Two members from Eastern European States;
- (e) Four members from Western European and other States.

The Assembly further decided that one third of the Committee's membership should retire annually and that retiring members would be eligible for reappointment.

- 2. The present membership of the Committee on Conferences is as follows:
  - Austria\*\*
  - Bahrain\*\*\*
  - Bosnia and Herzegovina\*
  - Central African Republic\*\*\*
  - Côte d'Ivoire\*
  - France\*\*\*
  - Iraq\*

Israel\*

\* A/70/50.





Jamaica\*\* Japan\*\* Mauritania\*\* Namibia\*\*\* Paraguay\*\*\* Peru\* Qatar\*\* Russian Federation\*\*\* Senegal\* Sri Lanka\*\*\* United Republic of Tanzania\*\* United States of America\*\*

\* Term of office expires on 31 December 2015.

\*\* Term of office expires on 31 December 2016.

\*\*\* Term of office expires on 31 December 2017.

3. Given that the terms of office of the representatives of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Côte d'Ivoire, Iraq, Israel, Peru, Senegal and Uruguay will expire on 31 December 2015, it will be necessary for the President of the seventieth session of the General Assembly to appoint seven members to fill the resulting vacancies. The members so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2016.