United Nations A/68/302



General Assembly

Distr.: General 9 August 2013

Original: English

Sixty-eighth session
Item 115 (a) of the provisional agenda*
Elections to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other elections

Election of seven members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) and General Assembly decision 42/450, the members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination are nominated by the Council and elected by the Assembly.
- 2. The membership of the Committee in 2013 is as follows (the term of office expires on 31 December in the year indicated): Algeria (2013); Antigua and Barbuda (2013); Argentina (2014); Belarus (2014); Benin (2013); Botswana (2015); Brazil (2014); Bulgaria (2014); Cameroon (2014); China (2013); Cuba (2014); El Salvador (2015); Eritrea (2013); France (2015); Guinea (2014); Guinea-Bissau (2014); Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2014); Italy (2014); Japan (2013); Kazakhstan (2014); Malaysia (2014); Pakistan (2014); Peru (2015); Republic of Korea (2013); Republic of Moldova (2014); Russian Federation (2015); United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2014); United Republic of Tanzania (2015); United States of America (2014); Uruguay (2014); and Zimbabwe (2014).
- 3. The General Assembly, at its sixty-eighth session, will be called upon to elect seven members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee that will occur on 31 December 2013 upon the expiration of the terms of office of the following members: Algeria, Antigua and Barbuda, Benin, China, Eritrea, Japan and Republic of Korea.
- 4. In accordance with General Assembly decision 42/450, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:
 - (a) Three members from African States;

¹ There are three vacancies for Western European and other States, for two members whose term of office would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 2014 and for one member whose term expires on 31 December 2015.





^{*} A/68/150.

- (b) Three members from Asia-Pacific States;
- (c) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States.
- 5. By its decision 2013/201 B, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following five Member States for election by the General Assembly at its sixty-eighth session for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2014: Benin, China, Ethiopia, Haiti and Japan.
- 6. The geographical distribution of the nominated Member States is as follows:
 - (a) African States (three vacancies): Benin and Ethiopia;²
 - (b) Asia-Pacific States (three vacancies): China and Japan;²
 - (c) Latin American and Caribbean States (one vacancy): Haiti.

13-42346

² The Economic and Social Council postponed the nomination of one member from African States and one member from Asia-Pacific States for election by the General Assembly for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2014 (decision 2013/201 B).