United Nations A/67/693



## **General Assembly**

Distr.: General 15 January 2013

Original: English

Sixty-seventh session

Agenda item 134

Scale of assessments for the apportionment of the expenses of the United Nations

## Letter dated 15 January 2013 from the Secretary-General to the President of the General Assembly

1. At present, 22 Member States are in arrears under the terms of Article 19 of the Charter of the United Nations, which states:

A Member of the United Nations which is in arrears in the payment of its financial contributions to the Organization shall have no vote in the General Assembly if the amount of its arrears equals or exceeds the amount of the contributions due from it for the preceding two full years. The General Assembly may, nevertheless, permit such a Member to vote if it is satisfied that the failure to pay is due to conditions beyond the control of the Member.

2. The minimum payments necessary to reduce the amounts owed by those Member States on their contributions so that they remain below the gross amount assessed for the preceding two full years (2011 and 2012) are as follows:

| Member State                          | Minimum payment<br>(United States dollars) |
|---------------------------------------|--|
| Cape Verde                            | 28 955.00                                  |
| Central African Republic <sup>a</sup> | 168 551.00                                 |
| Comoros <sup>a</sup>                  | 835 938.00                                 |
| Dominica                              | 7 231.00                                   |
| Dominican Republic                    | 486 715.00                                 |
| Equatorial Guinea                     | 47 716.00                                  |
| Fiji                                  | 5 410.00                                   |
| Gabon                                 | 150 214.00                                 |
| Grenada                               | 40 100.00                                  |
| Guinea-Bissau <sup>a</sup>            | 506 610.00                                 |
| Kyrgyzstan                            | 36 501.00                                  |
| Marshall Islands                      | 29 776.00                                  |







| Member State                              | Minimum payment<br>(United States dollars) |
|---|--|
| Saint Lucia                               | 35 727.00                                  |
| Sao Tome and Principe <sup>a</sup>        | 790 624.00                                 |
| Seychelles                                | 45 331.00                                  |
| Sierra Leone                              | 22 518.00                                  |
| Somalia <sup>a</sup>                      | 1 218 954.00                               |
| Sudan                                     | 347 879.00                                 |
| The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia | 18 624.00                                  |
| Vanuatu                                   | 34 799.00                                  |
| Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)        | 5 113 575.00                               |
| Zimbabwe                                  | 38 815.00                                  |

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>a</sup> In its resolution 67/2 of 11 October 2012, the General Assembly decided that the Central African Republic, the Comoros, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome and Principe and Somalia would be permitted to vote in the Assembly until the end of its sixty-seventh session.

(Signed) BAN Ki-moon

**2** 13-20658