UNITED NATIONS





General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/37/811 11 May 1983

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-seventh session Agenda item 48

IMPLEMENTATION OF THE DECLARATION OF THE INDIAN OCEAN
AS A ZONE OF PEACE

Appointment of a member of the Ad Hoc Committee on the Indian Ocean

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In paragraph 1 of resolution 34/80 B of 11 December 1979, the General Assembly decided to enlarge the Ad Hoc Committee on the Indian Ocean by the addition of new members to be appointed by the President of the Assembly on the recommendation of the Committee.
- 2. By a communication dated 11 May 1983, the President of the General Assembly informed the Secretary-General that, on the basis of the recommendation made by the Ad Hoc Committee at its 219th meeting, on 22 April 1983, and in accordance with the established practice, he had appointed the United Arab Emirates as an additional member of the Committee.
- 3. As a result of the above appointment, the Ad Hoc Committee on the Indian Ocean is composed of the following 47 Member States:

Australia
Bangladesh
Bulgaria
Canada
China
Democratic Yemen
Djibouti
Egypt

German Democratic Republic Germany, Federal Republic of

Greece India Indonesia

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

Iraq Italy Japan Kenya

Ethiopia

France

Liberia Madagascar Malaysia Maldives Mauritius Mozambique Netherlands

Norway Oman Pakistan Panama Poland Romania Seychelles Singapore Somalia Sri Lanka Sudan Thailand

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics

United Arab Emirates

United Kingdom of Great Britain and

Northern Ireland

United Republic of Tanzania United States of America

Yemen Yugoslavia Zambia