United Nations E/2019/9/Add.9



### **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 18 February 2019

Original: English

2019 session

26 July 2018–24 July 2019

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Election of 24 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

### Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN-Women) has 41 members, elected in accordance with General Assembly resolution 64/289 and Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35 and decision 2010/261.
- 2. Under the terms of its resolution 2010/35, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, at a management meeting to be held on 7 May 2019, 18 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2020, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2019 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Australia, Bahrain, Belarus, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, China, El Salvador, Finland, Japan, Montenegro, Nigeria, Republic of Korea, Rwanda, Sweden, Trinidad and Tobago, Yemen and Zambia.
- 3. In accordance with paragraph 61 (a) of General Assembly resolution 64/289, the Economic and Social Council is to elect four members of the Executive Board from among the top 10 largest providers of voluntary core contributions to UN-Women for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2020, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2019 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Norway, Switzerland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America.
- 4. In accordance with paragraph 61 (b) of General Assembly resolution 64/289, the Economic and Social Council is to elect two developing country members of the Executive Board from among the top 10 countries not members of the Development Assistance Committee of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, which provide voluntary core contributions to UN-Women, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2020, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2019 upon the expiration of the terms of Turkey and the United Arab Emirates.





5. The 24 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:

Regional category, in accordance with Council resolution 2010/35

- (a) Five members from African States;
- (b) Five members from Asia-Pacific States;
- (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
- (d) Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (e) Three members from Western European and other States;

Contributing countries, in accordance with paragraph 61 of General Assembly resolution 64/289 and Council resolution 2010/35

- (f) Six members.
- 6. The membership of the Executive Board in 2019 is listed in the annex to the present note.

**2/3** 19-02607

### **Annex**

# **Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women**

(41 members; three-year term)<sup>1</sup>

### Membership in 2019

## Members from the regional category, in accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35

Ten members from African States

Angola (2021), Burkina Faso\* (2019), Cameroon\* (2019), Equatorial Guinea (2021), Ghana (2021), Kenya (2021), Nigeria\* (2019), Morocco (2021), Rwanda\* (2019), Zambia\* (2019)

Ten members from Asia-Pacific States

Bahrain\* (2019), Bangladesh (2021), China\* (2019), India (2021), Japan\* (2019), Mongolia (2021), Nepal (2021), Republic of Korea\* (2019), Saudi Arabia (2021), Yemen\* (2019)

Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus\* (2019), Georgia (2021), Hungary (2021), Montenegro\* (2019)

Six members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Brazil\* (2019), Chile (2021), Colombia (2021), Cuba (2021), El Salvador\* (2019), Trinidad and Tobago\* (2019)

Five members from Western European and other States

Australia\*,2 (2019), Ireland (2021), Finland\* (2019), Sweden\*,3 (2019), Turkey (2021)

#### Members from contributing countries

Four members from the top 10 voluntary core contributing countries, in accordance with paragraph 61 (a) of General Assembly resolution 64/289

Norway\* (2019), Switzerland\* (2019), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland\* (2019), United States of America\* (2019)

Two members from the top 10 voluntary core contributing countries not members of the Development Assistance Committee of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, in accordance with paragraph 61 (b) of General Assembly resolution 64/289

Israel\*,4 (2019), United Arab Emirates (2019)<sup>5</sup>

19-02607

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Replaced Canada as from 1 January 2019

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Replaced the Netherlands as from 1 January 2019.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Replaced Turkey as from 1 January 2019.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Elected on 5 December 2018 to fill an outstanding vacancy created by the resignation of Chile (see Council decision 2019/201 A).