United Nations E/2019/9/Add.14



# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 18 February 2019

Original: English

2019 session

26 July 2018–24 July 2019

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Election of eight members of the Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS

# Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS) is composed of 22 members. In accordance with its decision 1995/223, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, from among States Members of the United Nations and observer States, eight members of the Programme Coordinating Board for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2020 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2019 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Algeria, Belarus, France, India, Indonesia, Madagascar, Mexico and United States of America.
- 2. The election will be held at the management meeting of the Council, on 7 May 2019.
- 3. The eight members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
  - (a) Two members from African States;
  - (b) Two members from Asia-Pacific States;
  - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
  - (d) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Two members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Programme Coordinating Board in 2019 is listed in the annex to the present note.





### Annex

# **Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS**

(22 members; three-year term)

# Membership in 2019

#### **Five members from African States**

Algeria\* (2019), Congo (2020), Liberia (2021), Madagascar\* (2019), Namibia (2021)

#### Five members from Asia-Pacific States

China (2021), India\* (2019), Indonesia\* (2019), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2020), Japan (2021)

#### Two members from Eastern European States

Belarus\* (2019), Russian Federation (2021)

#### Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Brazil (2021), Chile (2020), Mexico\* (2019)

#### Seven members from Western European and other States

Australia (2020), Belgium (2021), Finland (2020), France\*, (2019), Sweden (2021), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2021), United States of America\* (2019)

2/2

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Replaced Germany as from 1 January 2019.