

Distr.: General 27 December 2017

Original: English

Letter dated 27 December 2017 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

I have the honour to refer to paragraph 5 (a) of Security Council resolution 1977 (2011), in which the Council requested me to establish, in consultation with the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1540 (2004), a group of up to eight experts, acting under the direction and purview of the Committee, composed of individuals with appropriate experience and knowledge to provide the Committee with expertise, to assist the Committee in carrying out its mandate under resolutions 1540 (2004), 1673 (2006), 1810 (2008), 1977 (2011) and 2325 (2016), including through facilitation of assistance to improve implementation of resolution 1540 (2004). On 29 June 2012, the Security Council adopted resolution 2055 (2012), in which it emphasized the significantly increased workload of the Committee over the course of its mandate and requested the Secretary-General to increase the size of the group of experts referred to in paragraph 5 (a) of resolution 1977 (2011) to up to nine experts.

Following the completion of the terms of service of six of the experts during 2017, the Committee informed the Secretariat on 20 December 2017 that, after consultations on its group of experts, it had agreed on six candidates to fill the respective vacancies and, in this connection, requested that the Secretary-General take the measures necessary to appoint them to the group of experts.

Accordingly, I wish to inform you that after consultations with the Committee, I have appointed the following six individuals to the group of experts: Ms. Edith Valles (Argentina), Ms. Hongliu Zhang (China), Ms. Kiwako Tanaka (Japan), Mr. Michiel Combrinck (South Africa), Mr. Scott Spence (United States of America) and Mr. Jonathan Brewer (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland).

I should be grateful if the present letter could be brought to the attention of the members of the Security Council.

(Signed) António Guterres



