United Nations E/cn.15/2017/L.1



Distr.: Limited 23 May 2017

Original: English

Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice

Twenty-sixth session Vienna, 22-26 May 2017

Draft report

Rapporteur: Roland Seeger (Germany)

Organization of the session

A. Informal pre-session consultations

- 1. At its reconvened twenty-fifth session, held on 1 and 2 December 2016, the Commission agreed that the regular part of its twenty-sixth session would be held from 22 to 26 May 2017, with informal pre-session consultations to be held on 19 May 2017, the working day preceding the first day of the session.
- 2. At the informal pre-session consultations on 19 May 2017, chaired by the First Vice-Chair, Lotfi Bouchaara (Morocco), the Commission conducted a preliminary review of the draft resolutions that had been submitted by the deadline of 24 April 2017 and dealt with organizational matters for the twenty-sixth session.

B. Opening and duration of the session

- 3. The Commission held the part of its twenty-sixth session in the first half of the year in Vienna from 22 to 26 May 2017, during which time there were [...] plenary meetings and [...] meetings of the Committee of the Whole.
- 4. The Chair of the Commission opened that part of the session. At the 1st, 2nd, 4th and 5th meetings, on 22, 23 and 24 May 2017, the Executive Director of the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) made an opening statement and invited participants to observe a minute of silence for Giorgio Giacomelli, who had served as Executive Director of the United Nations International Drug Control Programme and Director-General of the United Nations Office at Vienna from 1991 to 1997. The representative of Italy made a statement paying tribute to Mr. Giacomelli.
- 5. Opening statements were made by the representative of the Islamic Republic of Iran (on behalf of the Group of 77 and China), the observer for Algeria (on behalf of the Group of African States), the observer for Sri Lanka (on behalf of the Group of Asia-Pacific States), the observer for the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela (on behalf of the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States) and the observer for







Malta (on behalf of the European Union and its member States). The observer for the Sudan also made a statement (on behalf of the States members of the League of Arab States).

- Opening statements were also made by the Minister of Justice and Law of Colombia; the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation; the Vice-Minister of Justice of China; the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice of Nigeria; the Minister of Justice and Minister of State for National Assembly Affairs of Kuwait; the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Indonesia; a Judge of the Supreme Court of Peru; the Deputy Director General for the United Nations, International Cyberpolicy and Counterterrorism of the Federal Foreign Office of Germany; the Director General of Multilateral and Economic Affairs at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Guatemala; the Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs of the Department of State of the United States of America; the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Justice of Thailand; the Special Envoy on Transnational Crime of the Philippines; the Undersecretary for Crime Policy of the Ministry of Justice and Human Rights of Argentina; the Senior Deputy Solicitor General and Director of the Assets Recovery Agency of the Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice of Kenya; a Magistrate of the Supreme Court of Justice of Honduras; the Legal Adviser to the Minister of the Interior of Qatar; and the Specialist in Foreign Affairs of the Ministry of Justice of Cuba.
- 7. Statements were also made by the representatives of Ecuador, France, Brazil, Morocco, Mexico, Chile, Italy, the Dominican Republic, Pakistan, South Africa, the Islamic Republic of Iran, El Salvador, the Republic of Korea and India.
- 8. Statements were also made by the observers for Panama, Malaysia, Australia, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Turkey, Norway, Romania, the United Arab Emirates, Bulgaria, Costa Rica, Namibia, Algeria, the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela and Portugal.
- 9. A statement was made by the Executive Director of the Counter-Terrorism Committee Executive Directorate.

C. Attendance

10. The twenty-sixth session was attended by representatives of [...] States members of the Commission. Also attending were observers for [...] other States Members of the United Nations, observers for [...] non-member States, representatives of [...] entities of the United Nations system and observers for the institutes of the United Nations crime prevention and criminal justice programme network, [...] intergovernmental organizations and [...] non-governmental organizations in consultative status with the Economic and Social Council. A list of participants is contained in document E/CN.15/2017/INF/2.

D. Election of officers

- 11. Pursuant to Economic and Social Council resolution 2003/31 and rule 15 of the rules of procedure of the functional commissions of the Council, the Commission, at the end of its reconvened twenty-fifth session, on 2 December 2016, opened its twenty-sixth session for the purpose of electing its bureau for that session. In view of the rotation of offices based on regional distribution, the officers elected for the twenty-sixth session of the Commission and their respective regional groups are listed below.
- 12. On 2 December 2016, the Commission elected the Chair, the Second Vice-Chair and the Rapporteur. The nomination for Third Vice-Chair remained pending until 9 December 2016, when the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States nominated Wilson Marcelo Pástor Morris of Ecuador. On 21 April 2017, the Group

2/3 V.17-03429

of Eastern European States informed the Chair that Olga Algayerova of Slovakia could no longer serve as the Second Vice-Chair of the Commission. On 15 May 2017, the Group of Eastern European States nominated Roksanda Ninčić of Serbia for that office. The Commission elected the First Vice-Chair, Second Vice-Chair and Third Vice-Chair during its consideration of item 1.

13. The officers of the Commission at its twenty-sixth session were as follows:

Chair	Asia-Pacific States	Mitsuru Kitano (Japan)
First Vice-Chair	African States	Lotfi Bouchaara (Morocco)
Second Vice-Chair	Eastern European States	Roksanda Ninčić (Serbia)
Third Vice-Chair	Latin American and Caribbean States	Wilson Marcelo Pástor Morris (Ecuador)
Rapporteur	Western European and other States	Roland Seeger (Germany)

14. A group composed of the Chairs of the five regional groups (the observers for Algeria, Azerbaijan, Sri Lanka, Switzerland and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)), the representative of Iran (Islamic Republic of) (on behalf of the Group of 77 and China) and the observer for Malta (on behalf of the European Union) was established to assist the Chair of the Commission in dealing with organizational matters. That group, together with the elected officers, constituted the extended Bureau foreseen in Economic and Social Council resolution 2003/31. During the twenty-sixth session of the Commission, the extended Bureau met on [...] and [...] May 2017 to consider matters related to the organization of work.

E. Adoption of the agenda and organization of work

15. At its 1st meeting, on 22 May 2017, the Commission adopted the provisional agenda and proposed organization of work (E/CN.15/2017/1), which had been approved by the Economic and Social Council in its decision 2016/243.

F. Documentation

16. The documents before the Commission at its twenty-sixth session are listed in conference room paper E/CN.15/2017/CRP.[...].

V.17-03429