$E_{2016/9/Add.9}$ **United Nations**



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 18 January 2016

Original: English

2016 session 24 July 2015-27 July 2016 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 24 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the **Empowerment of Women**

Note by the Secretary-General

- The Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN-Women) has 41 members, elected in accordance with General Assembly resolution 64/289 and Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35 and decision 2010/261.
- 2. Under the terms of its resolution 2010/35, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, at the coordination and management meetings to be held from 4 to 6 April 2016, 18 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2017, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2016 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bangladesh, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, China, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, Equatorial Guinea, India, Japan, Poland, Republic of Korea, Senegal, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Suriname and Togo.
- In accordance with paragraph 61 (a) of General Assembly resolution 64/289, the Council is to elect four members of the Executive Board from among the top 10 largest providers of voluntary core contributions to UN-Women for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2017, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2016 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
- In accordance with paragraph 61 (b) of General Assembly resolution 64/289, the Council is to elect two developing country members of the Executive Board from among the top 10 countries not members of the Development Assistance Committee of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, which provide voluntary core contributions to UN-Women, for a three-year term beginning





on 1 January 2017, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2016 upon the expiration of the terms of Mexico and Saudi Arabia.

- 5. The 24 members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Five members from African States;
 - (b) Five members from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
 - (d) Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Three members from Western European and other States;
- (f) Six members (contributing countries, in accordance with paragraph 61 of General Assembly resolution 64/289 and Council resolution 2010/35).
- 6. The membership of the Executive Board in 2016 is listed in the annex to the present note.

2/4 16-00653

Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

(41 members; three-year term)^a

Membership in 2016

Members from the regional category, in accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35

Ten members from African States

Comoros (2018), Equatorial Guinea* (2016), Gabon (2018), Liberia (2018), Namibia (2018), Senegal* (2016), Somalia* (2016), South Africa* (2016), Togo* (2016), Tunisia (2018)

Ten members from Asia-Pacific States

Bangladesh* (2016), China* (2016), India* (2016), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2018), Japan* (2016), Pakistan (2018), Republic of Korea* (2016), Samoa (2018), Turkmenistan (2018), United Arab Emirates (2018)

Four members from Eastern European States

Bosnia and Herzegovina* (2016), Croatia (2018), Poland* (2016), Russian Federation (2018)

Six members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2018), Colombia* (2016), Cuba* (2016), Guyana (2018), Panama (2018), Suriname* (2016)

Five members from Western European and other States

Canada*,^b (2016), Denmark*,^c (2016), Germany (2018), Luxembourg (2018), Spain*,^d (2016)

Members from contributing countries

Four members from the top 10 voluntary core contributing countries, in accordance with paragraph 61 (a) of General Assembly resolution 64/289

Netherlands*,e (2016), Norway*,f (2016), Sweden*,g (2016), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland* (2016)

3/4

^{*} Retiring member.

^a See Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35.

^b Replaced Portugal as from 1 January 2016.

^c Replaced Israel as from 1 January 2016.

d Replaced Italy as from 1 January 2016.

e Replaced United States of America as from 1 January 2016.

f Replaced Denmark as from 1 January 2016.

g Replaced Spain as from 1 January 2016.

Two members from the top 10 voluntary core contributing countries, not members of the Development Assistance Committee of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, in accordance with paragraph 61 (b) of General Assembly resolution 64/289

Mexico* (2016), Saudi Arabia* (2016)

4/4 16-00653