United Nations GENERAL ASSEMBLY

TWENTY-FIFTH SESSION

Official Records

CONTENTS

Page

Agenda item 16:

Election of five non-permanent members of the Security Council 1

President: Mr. Edvard HAMBRO (Norway).

AGENDA ITEM 16

Election of five non-permanent members of the Security Council

1. The PRESIDENT: The first item on the agenda for this afternoon is the election of five non-permanent members of the Security Council to replace the five non-permanent members whose term of office expires on 31 December 1970. The five outgoing members are: Colombia, Finland, Nepal, Spain and Zambia. Those five countries cannot be re-elected and their names must not appear on the ballot papers.

2. Apart from the five permanent members, the Security Council in 1971 will include Burundi, Nicaragua, Poland, Sierra Leone and Syria. Therefore, the names of those States also should not appear on the ballot papers.

3. Of the five non-permanent members which will remain in office in 1971, three are from Africa and Asia, one from Eastern Europe and one from Latin America. Therefore, in accordance with paragraph 3 of resolution 1991 A (XVIII), the non-permanent members to be elected should be made up as follows: two from Africa and Asia, one from Latin America and two from Western Europe and other States. The ballot papers take that distribution into account.

4. Furthermore, it is the President's understanding that of the two seats to which African and Asian States have to be elected, one should go to an African State and one to an Asian State.

5. In accordance with rule 94 of the rules of procedure, the election will be held by secret ballot and there will be no nominations. I request members of the Assembly to use only the ballot papers which have now been distributed and to write on them the names of the five Member States for which they wish to vote. As I have indicated, the ballot papers should not include the names of the five permanent members, the five outgoing non-permanent members or the five countries that are already non-permanent members for 1971. Any ballot papers containing more than five names will be declared invalid.

At the invitation of the President, Mr. Zádor (Hungary) and Mr. Tigoué (Togo) acted as tellers.

A vote was taken by secret ballc?.

Number of ballot papers:	113
Invalid ballots:	0
Valid ballots:	113
Abstentions:	0
Number of members voting:	113
Required majority:	76

Number of votes obtained:

tunteer of fores corantear	
Argentina	109
Italy	108
Belgium	104
Somalia	104
Japan	102
Democratic Republic of the Congo.	2
Austria	1
Burma	1
Fiji	1
Haiti	1
India	1
Luxembourg	1
Madagascar	1
Nigeria	1
Sweden	1

Having obtained the required two-thirds majority, Argentina, Belgium, Italy, Japan and Somalia were elected non-permanent members of the Security Council for a period of two years beginning on 1 January 1971.

6. The PRESIDENT: I congratulate the countries which have just been elected and I thank the tellers for their assistance.

The meeting rose at 4.10 p.m.

Monday, 26 October 1970, at 3 p.m.

PLENARY MEETI