United Nations A/72/567



Distr.: General 2 November 2017

Original: English

Seventy-second session

Agenda item 115 (b)

Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Felipe García Landa (Mexico)

- 1. At its 2nd plenary meeting, on 15 September 2017, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the General Committee, decided to include in the agenda of its seventy-second session the item entitled "Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions" and to allocate it to the Fifth Committee.
- 2. At its 11th meeting, on 2 November 2017, the Fifth Committee had before it the following documents:
- (a) Note by the Secretary-General concerning the vacancies in the membership of the Committee on Contributions that would occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of six of its members on 31 December 2017 (A/72/102/Rev.1);
- (b) Note by the Secretary-General containing the names of six persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment or reappointment to the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2018 (A/C.5/72/5).
- 3. At the same meeting, the Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly that it appoint or reappoint Michael Holtsch (Germany), Evgeny Kalugin (Russian Federation), Henrique da Silveira Sardinha Pinto (Brazil), Steve Townley (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Yoon Seongmee (Republic of Korea) and Zhang Wei (China) as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2018 (see para. 4).





Recommendation of the Fifth Committee

4. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly appoint the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2018:

Michael Holtsch (Germany)
Evgeny Kalugin (Russian Federation)
Henrique da Silveira Sardinha Pinto (Brazil)
Steve Townley (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)
Yoon Seongmee (Republic of Korea)
Zhang Wei (China)

2/2 17-19313