$A_{72/101*}$



Distr.: General 8 March 2017

Original: English

Seventy-second session Item 116 (a) of the preliminary list** Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

Appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 155 and 156 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

Rule 155

The General Assembly shall appoint an Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions consisting of sixteen members, including at least three financial experts of recognized standing.

Rule 156

The members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The three financial experts shall not retire simultaneously. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Advisory Committee at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session.

* Reissued for technical reasons on 23 March 2017.





2. The current membership of the Advisory Committee is as follows:

Takeshi Akamatsu (Japan)*** Pavel Chernikov (Russian Federation)* Ihor Humennyi (Ukraine)** Conrod Hunte (Antigua and Barbuda)** Mutaz Hvassat (Jordan)** Marcel Jullier (Switzerland)*** Mahesh Kumar (India)*** Ali A. Kurer (Libya)* Dietrich Lingenthal (Germany)* Fernando de Oliveira Sena (Brazil)* Carlos Ruiz Massieu (Mexico)*** Babou Sene (Senegal)** Tesfa Alem Seyoum (Eritrea)** David Traystman (United States of America)* Catherine Vendat (France)*** Ye Xuenong (China)***

* Term of office expires on 31 December 2017.

3. Given that the terms of office of Mr. Chernikov, Mr. Kurer, Mr. Lingenthal, Mr. de Oliveira Sena and Mr. Traystman will expire on 31 December 2017, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its seventy-second session, to appoint five persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2018.

4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the seventy-second session.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2018.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2019.