

Distr.: General 18 July 2016

Original: English

Seventy-first session Item 116 (b) of the provisional agenda\* Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

## Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 158 and 159 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

## Rule 158

The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions consisting of eighteen members.

## Rule 159

The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session.

2. The current membership of the Committee is the following:

Syed Yawar Ali (Pakistan)\*\*\* Jean Pierre Diawara (Guinea)\* Jasminka Dinić (Croatia)\*\*\* Gordon Eckersley (Australia)\* Mohamed A. Elshakshuki (Libya)\* Edward Faris (United States of America)\*\*\* Fu Daopeng (China)\*\*







Bernardo Greiver (Uruguay)\* Simon Hough (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)\*\* Nikolay Lozinskiy (Russian Federation)\*\* Toshiro Ozawa (Japan)\*\*\* Pedro Luis Pedroso Cuesta (Cuba)\* Tõnis Saar (Estonia)\*\*\* Henrique da Silveira Sardinha Pinto (Brazil)\*\* Thomas Schlesinger (Austria)\*\* Ugo Sessi (Italy)\* Josiel Motumisi Tawana (South Africa)\*\*\* Seongmee Yoon (Republic of Korea)\*\*

3. Given that the terms of office of Mr. Diawara, Mr. Eckersley, Mr. Elshakshuki, Mr. Greiver, Mr. Pedroso Cuesta and Mr. Sessi will expire on 31 December 2016, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its seventy-first session, to appoint six persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2017.

4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the seventy-first session.

<sup>\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2016.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2017.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2018.