United Nations A/68/558



Distr.: General 1 November 2013

Original: English

Sixty-eighth session

Agenda item 116 (b)

Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Ken Siah (Singapore)

- 1. At its 2nd plenary meeting, on 20 September 2013, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the General Committee, decided to include in the agenda of its sixty-eighth session the item entitled "Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions", and to allocate it to the Fifth Committee.
- 2. At its 14th meeting, on 1 November 2013, the Fifth Committee had before it the following documents:
- (a) Note by the Secretary-General concerning the vacancies in the membership of the Committee on Contributions that would occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of six of its members on 31 December 2013 (A/68/102/Rev.1);
- (b) Note by the Secretary-General containing the names of six persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment or reappointment to the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2014 (A/C.5/68/5/Rev.1).
- 3. At the same meeting, the Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly that it appoint Ali A. Ali Kurer (Libya), Jean Pierre Diawara (Guinea), Gordon Eckersley (Australia), Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo (Uruguay), Pedro Luis Pedroso Cuesta (Cuba) and Ugo Sessi (Italy) as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2014 (see para. 4).





Recommendation of the Fifth Committee

4. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly appoint the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2014:

Ali A. Ali Kurer (Libya) Jean Pierre Diawara (Guinea) Gordon Eckersley (Australia) Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo (Uruguay) Pedro Luis Pedroso Cuesta (Cuba) Ugo Sessi (Italy).

2/2