United Nations A/68/102/Rev.1



Distr.: General 15 August 2013

Original: English

Sixty-eighth session

Item 116 (b) of the provisional agenda\*

Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

## **Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions**

## **Note by the Secretary-General**

1. Rules 158 and 159 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

Rule 158

The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions consisting of eighteen members.

Rule 159

The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session.

2. The current membership of the Committee is the following:

Andrzej T. Abraszewski (Poland)\*\*\*
Joseph Acakpo-Satchivi (Benin)\*
Syed Yawar Ali (Pakistan)\*\*\*
Gordon Eckersley (Australia)\*
Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo (Uruguay)\*
Ihor V. Humenny (Ukraine)\*\*\*
Nikolay Lozinskiy (Russian Federation)\*\*
Susan M. McLurg (United States of America)\*\*\*
Juan Ndong Mbomio Mangue (Equatorial Guinea)\*

<sup>\*</sup> A/68/150.







Pedro Luis Pedroso (Cuba)\*
Gönke Roscher (Germany)\*\*
Thomas Schlesinger (Austria)\*
Henrique da Silveira Sardinha Pinto (Brazil)\*\*
Thomas David Smith (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)\*\*
Josiel Motumisi Tawana (South Africa)\*\*\*
Kazuo Watanabe (Japan)\*\*\*
Sun Xudong (China)\*\*
Dae-jong Yoo (Republic of Korea)\*\*

**2** 13-42920

<sup>\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2013.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2014.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2015.

<sup>3.</sup> Since the terms of office of Mr. Acakpo-Satchivi, Mr. Eckersley, Mr. Greiver del Hoyo, Mr. Ndong Mbomio Mangue, Mr. Pedroso and Mr. Schlesinger will expire on 31 December 2013, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its sixty-eighth session, to appoint six persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2014.

<sup>4.</sup> At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the sixty-eighth session.