

Distr.: General 15 August 2013

Original: English

Sixty-eighth session Item 116 (a) of the provisional agenda* Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

Appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 155 and 156 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

Rule 155

The General Assembly shall appoint an Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions consisting of sixteen members, including at least three financial experts of recognized standing.

Rule 156

The members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The three financial experts shall not retire simultaneously. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Advisory Committee at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session.

* A/68/150.





2. The present membership of the Advisory Committee is the following:

Toshihiro Aiki (Japan)* Bruno Nunes Brant (Brazil)** Pavel Chernikov (Russian Federation)** Jasminka Dinić (Croatia)*** Conrod Hunte (Antigua and Barbuda)*** Vinay Kumar (India)* Dietrich Lingenthal (Germany)** Peter Maddens (Belgium)* Carlos Ruiz Massieu (Mexico)* Richard Moon (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)* Jean Christian Obame (Gabon)** Mohanad Ali Omran Al-Musawi (Iraq)*** Babou Sene (Senegal)*** Tesfa Alem Seyoum (Eritrea)*** David Traystman (United States of America)** Zhang Wanhai (China)*

* Term of office expires on 31 December 2013.

** Term of office expires on 31 December 2014.

*** Term of office expires on 31 December 2015.

3. Since the terms of office of Mr. Aiki, Mr. Kumar, Mr. Maddens, Mr. Massieu, Mr. Moon and Mr. Zhang will expire on 31 December 2013, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its sixty-eighth session, to appoint six persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2014.

4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the sixty-eighth session.