

Distr.: Limited 8 November 2012

Original: English

Sixty-seventh session Agenda item 75 Oceans and the law of the sea

> Argentina, Australia, Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Ecuador, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Jamaica, Japan, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America and Uruguay: draft resolution

> Plenary meetings of the General Assembly on 10 and 11 December 2012 devoted to the consideration of the item entitled "Oceans and the law of the sea" and to the commemoration of the thirtieth anniversary of the opening for signature of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

The General Assembly,

Recalling that the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea¹ was opened for signature on 10 December 1982 in Montego Bay, Jamaica,

Recognizing the personalities who served as officers of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea or who otherwise contributed untiringly towards the conclusion of the Convention and its adoption on 30 April 1982,

Recalling its resolution 66/231 of 24 December 2011, in which it decided to devote two days of plenary meetings at its sixty-seventh session, on 10 and 11 December 2012, to the consideration of the item entitled "Oceans and the law of the sea" and the commemoration of the thirtieth anniversary of the opening for signature of the Convention, including special recognition of the crucial role played by Ambassador Arvid Pardo of Malta and, in particular, his visionary speech delivered on 1 November 1967 before the General Assembly, leading to the adoption

¹ See The Law of the Sea: Official Texts of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982 and of the Agreement relating to the Implementation of Park XI of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982 with Index and Excerpts from the Final Act of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea (United Nations publication, Sales No. E.97.V.10).





Please recycle

of the Convention, and encouraged Member States and observers to be represented at the highest possible level,

Recognizing the recommendation of the General Committee to the General Assembly that it adopt a format for commemorative meetings that includes statements by the President of the General Assembly, the Secretary-General, the Chairs of the five regional groups and the representative of the host country, which was adopted at the second plenary meeting of the General Assembly on 21 September 2012,

Decides to adopt the organizational arrangements for the plenary meetings on 10 and 11 December 2012 as outlined in the annex to the present resolution.

Annex

Organizational arrangements for the plenary meetings on 10 and 11 December 2012 devoted to the consideration of the item entitled "Oceans and the law of the sea" and to the commemoration of the thirtieth anniversary of the opening for signature of the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea

1. Four plenary meetings of the General Assembly shall be held on 10 and 11 December, as follows:

(a) Two plenary meetings, on 10 December 2012, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. and from 3 to 6 p.m., shall be devoted to the commemoration of the thirtieth anniversary of the opening for signature of the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea;

(b) Two plenary meetings, on 11 December 2012, from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. and from 3 to 6 p.m., shall be devoted to the consideration of the item entitled "Oceans and the law of the sea".

2. The list of speakers in the commemoration shall be as follows:

(a) Ambassador Tommy Koh, President of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea;

(b) Mr. Christopher Grima, Permanent Representative of Malta, to pay special tribute to the late Ambassador Arvid Pardo of Malta;

(c) Chairs of the five regional groups;

(d) Representative of the host country;

(e) Ms. Isabelle Picco, President of the twenty-second Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea;

(f) Mr. Milan Meetarbhan, President of the Assembly of the International Seabed Authority;

(g) Mr. Nii Odunton, Secretary-General of the International Seabed Authority;

(h) Judge Peter Tomka, President of the International Court of Justice;

(i) Judge Shunji Yanai, President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea;

(j) Mr. Lawrence Awosika, Chairman of the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf.

3. Statements in the commemoration shall be limited to ten minutes.