

Distr.: General 12 November 2012

Original: English

**Sixty-seventh session** Agenda item 111 (d)

## Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the International Civil Service Commission

## **Report of the Fifth Committee**

Rapporteur: Mr. Justin Kisoka (United Republic of Tanzania)

1. At its 2nd plenary meeting, on 21 September 2012, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the General Committee, decided to include in the agenda of its sixty-seventh session the item entitled "Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the International Civil Service Commission".

2. At its 13th meeting, on 9 November 2012, the Fifth Committee had before it the following documents:

(a) Note by the Secretary-General concerning the vacancies in the membership of the International Civil Service Commission that would occur as a result of the expiration of the terms of office of five of its members on 31 December 2012 (A/67/104/Rev.1);

(b) Note by the Secretary-General containing the names of persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment or reappointment to the Commission, to fill the following vacancies: two members from the African States, two members from the Asia-Pacific States and one member from the Eastern European States (A/C.5/67/7).

3. At the same meeting, the Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly the appointment of Fatih Bouayad-Agha (Algeria), El Hassane Zahid (Morocco), Mohamed Mijarul Quayes (Bangladesh), Wang Xiaochu (China) and Sergei V. Garmonin (Russian Federation) as members of the Commission for a four-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2013 (see para. 4).





## **Recommendation of the Fifth Committee**

4. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly appoint the following persons as members of the International Civil Service Commission for a four-year term of office beginning on 1 January 2013:

Fatih Bouayad-Agha (Algeria)

Sergei V. Garmonin (Russian Federation)

Mohamed Mijarul Quayes (Bangladesh)

Wang Xiaochu (China)

El Hassane Zahid (Morocco)