United Nations A/67/102

Distr.: General 20 March 2012

Original: English

Sixty-seventh session
Item 112 (b) of the preliminary list\*
Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

## **Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions**

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 158 and 159 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

Rule 158

The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions consisting of eighteen members.

Rule 159

The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session.

2. The current membership of the Committee is the following:

Andrzej T. Abraszewski (Poland)\*
Joseph Acakpo-Satchivi (Benin)\*\*
Meshal al-Mansour (Kuwait)\*
Elmi Ahmed Dualeh (Somalia)\*
Gordon Eckersley (Australia)\*\*
Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo (Uruguay)\*\*
Ihor V. Humenny (Ukraine)\*

<sup>\*</sup> A/67/50.





NneNne Iwuji-Eme (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)\*\*\*
Nikolay Lozinskiy (Russian Federation)\*\*\*
Juan Ndong Mbomio Mangue (Equatorial Guinea)\*\*
Pedro Luis Pedroso (Cuba)\*\*
Gönke Roscher (Germany)\*\*\*
Thomas Schlesinger (Austria)\*\*
Henrique da Silveira Sardinha Pinto (Brazil)\*\*\*
Lisa P. Spratt (United States of America)\*
Kazuo Watanabe (Japan)\*
Sun Xudong (China)\*\*\*
Dae-jong Yoo (Republic of Korea)\*\*\*

**2** 12-26880

<sup>\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2012.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2013.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2014.

<sup>3.</sup> Since the terms of office of Mr. Abraszewski, Mr. Al-Mansour, Mr. Dualeh, Mr. Humenny, Ms. Spratt and Mr. Watanabe will expire on 31 December 2012, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its sixty-seventh session, to appoint six persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2013.

<sup>4.</sup> At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the sixty-seventh session.