

Distr.: General 15 March 2011

Original: English

Sixty-sixth session Item 117 (c) of the preliminary list* Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

Confirmation of the appointment of members of the Investments Committee

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Article 20 of the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund provides as follows:

"Article 20 "Investments Committee

"The Investments Committee shall consist of nine members appointed by the Secretary-General after consultation with the [United Nations Joint Staff Pension] Board and the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, subject to confirmation by the General Assembly."

2. The present membership of the Committee is the following:

Masakazu Arikawa (Japan)* Emilio J. Cárdenas (Argentina)** Madhav Dhar (India)* Simon Jiang (China)*** Achim Kassow (Germany)*** Nemir A. Kirdar (Iraq)* William J. McDonough (United States of America)*** Linah K. Mohohlo (Botswana)** Hélène Ploix (France)*

* A/66/50.





^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2011.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2012.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2013.

3. Since the terms of office of Mr. Arikawa, Mr. Dhar, Mr. Kirdar and Ms. Ploix will expire on 31 December 2011, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its sixty-sixth session, to confirm the appointment by the Secretary-General of four persons to fill those vacancies. The persons so confirmed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2012.

4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for confirmation. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the sixty-sixth session.