

Distr.: General 16 August 2011

Original: English

Sixty-sixth session Item 115 (a) of the provisional agenda\* Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

## Appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 155 and 156 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

"Rule 155

"The General Assembly shall appoint an Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions consisting of sixteen members, including at least three financial experts of recognized standing.

"Rule 156

"The members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The three financial experts shall not retire simultaneously. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Advisory Committee at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

\* A/66/150.





2. The present membership of the Advisory Committee is the following:

Aïcha Afifi (Morocco)\* Renata Archini (Italy)\* Jasminka Dinić (Croatia)\*\* Vladimir A. Iosifov (Russian Federation)\* Collen V. Kelapile (Botswana)\*\* Namgya C. Khampa (India)\*\*\* Peter Maddens (Belgium)\*\*\* Carlos Ruiz Massieu (Mexico)\*\*\* Richard Moon (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)\*\*\* Stafford Oliver Neil (Jamaica)\*\* Akira Sugiyama (Japan)\*\*\* Mohammad Mustafa Tal (Jordan)\*\* Alejandro Torres Lépori (Argentina)\* David Traystman (United States of America)\* Nonye Udo (Nigeria)\*\* Zhang Wanhai (China)\*\*\*

\* Term of office expires on 31 December 2011.

\*\* Term of office expires on 31 December 2012.

\*\*\* Term of office expires on 31 December 2013.

3. Since the terms of office of Ms. Afifi, Ms. Archini, Mr. Iosifov, Mr. Torres Lépori and Mr. Traystman will expire on 31 December 2011, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its sixty-sixth session, to appoint five persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2012.

4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the sixty-sixth session.