United Nations A/64/102/Rev.1



Distr.: General 24 July 2009

Original: English

Sixty-fourth session
Item 111 (b) of the preliminary list*
Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 158 and 159 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

"Rule 158

"The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions consisting of eighteen members.

"Rule 159

"The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

2. The present membership of the Committee is the following:

Joseph Acakpo-Satchivi (Benin)**
Kenshiro Akimoto (Japan)*
Meshal Al-Mansour (Kuwait)*
Abdelmalek Bouheddou (Algeria)**
Petru Dumitriu (Romania)*
Gordon Eckersley (Australia)**
Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo (Uruguay)**
Luis Mariano Hermosillo Sosa (Mexico)**

^{*} A/64/50.





Ihor V. Humenny (Ukraine)*

Vyacheslav Anatolievich Logutov (Russian Federation)***

Gobona Susan Mapitse (Botswana)*

Richard Moon (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)***

Hae-yun Park (Republic of Korea)***

Eduardo Manuel da Fonseca Fernandes Ramos (Portugal)**

Gönke Roscher (Germany)***

Lisa P. Spratt (United States of America)*

Courtney H. Williams (Jamaica)***

Wu Gang (China)***

- 3. Since the terms of office of Mr. Akimoto, Mr. Al-Mansour, Mr. Dumitriu, Mr. Humenny, Ms. Mapitse and Ms. Spratt will expire on 31 December 2009, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its sixty-fourth session to appoint six persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2010.
- 4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the sixty-fourth session.

09-42384

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2009.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2010.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2011.