

Distr.: General 14 March 2007

Original: English

Sixty-second session Item 116 (e) of the preliminary list* **Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments**

Appointment of members of the United Nations Administrative Tribunal

Note by the Secretary-General

1. By its resolution 55/159, the General Assembly amended paragraphs 1 and 2 of article 3 of the statute of the United Nations Administrative Tribunal (General Assembly resolution 351 A (IV)).

2. By its resolution 59/283, the General Assembly further amended paragraph 1 of article 3.

3. Article 3, paragraph 1 of the statute of the United Nations Administrative Tribunal now reads as follows:

"The Tribunal shall be composed of seven members, no two of whom may be nationals of the same State. Members shall possess judicial experience in the field of administrative law or its equivalent within their national jurisdiction. Only three members shall sit in any particular case."

4. In paragraph 2 of its resolution 55/159, the General Assembly also decided that members serving on the Tribunal as at 1 January 2001 should have their current term of office extended by one year, and that thereafter, provided that they had not served on the Tribunal for more than seven years, they might be reappointed once.





5. The present membership of the Administrative Tribunal is the following:

Julio Barboza (Argentina)* Goh Joon Seng (Singapore)** Spyridon Flogaitis (Greece)** Bob Hepple (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)*** Jacqueline R. Scott (United States of America)*** Brigitte Stern (France)** Dayendra Sena Wijewardane (Sri Lanka)*

* Term of office expires on 31 December 2007.

** Term of office expires on 31 December 2008.

*** Term of office expires on 31 December 2010.

6. Since the terms of office of Mr. Barboza and Mr. Wijewardane will expire on 31 December 2007, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its sixty-second session to appoint two persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of four years, beginning on 1 January 2008.

7. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the sixty-second session.